UpHere Logo

You've Got A Story. Write It Down.


The Sally Manning Award for Indigenous creative non-fiction is here again. Presented in partnership with the Yellowknife Community Foundation, this award is dedicated to helping strong indigenous voices tell their own stories about the North: its land and people. The award is given in honour of Sally Manning, a writer, teacher and lover of the North with the aim of fostering the talent of new writers.

Winner of the 2016 Sally Manning Award was Yellowknife's Tanya Roach, for her piece Larga Love. The 2015, inaugural award winner was Adina Tarralik Duffy with Don't Cry Over Spilled Beads.

The contest is open to people of First Nation, Inuit and Metis descent, currently or formerly residing in the Yukon, NWT, Nunavut, Nunavik or Labrador.

Entries should feature a Northern theme and run from 1,000 to 2,500 words in length. This contest is open only to emerging writers and all entries should include a 50-word bio on a separate page. Only one submission will be accepted from each writer, per year.


Entries have now closed for the 2017 Sally Manning Award and the winner will be announced the April/May issue of Up Here magazine. Thank you to all who submitted.