UpHere Logo

Meet The Judges

Meet The Judges

The 2017 Sally Manning Award deadline is fast approaching
By Up Here
Nov 08

You have less than two months left to submit your story for the Sally Manning Award in Indigenous creative non-fiction. This award is presented in partnership with Up Here magazine and the Yellowknife Community Foundation and we encourage emerging Indigenous writers who live or have lived in the North to share their stories. And we are proud to introduce you to this year’s esteemed judges:

Adina Tarralik-DuffyAdina Tarralik-Duffy is the winner of the inaugural Sally Manning Award for her story Don’t Cry Over Spilled Beads. She is an Inuk writer and designer based in Coral Harbour, Nunavut and the force behind fashion and jewellery line Ugly Fish Design.

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. Photo by Nadya KwandibensLeanne Betasamosake Simpson is a musician, poet and the author of numerous books and short story collections including This Accident of Being Lost, Dancing on Our Turtle’s Back and Islands of Decolonial Love. She is Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg and a member of the Alderville First Nation in southern Ontario. She is also a faculty member of Dechinta Centre for Research and Learning in the Northwest Territories.

Richard Van CampRichard Van Camp is a Tłı̨chǫ storyteller and author originally from Fort Smith, NWT. His novel The Lesser Blessed was adapted for film and he has published several short stories, childrens’ books, graphic novels and comics. He has taught creative writing at Canadian universities and was a Writer in Residence at both MacEwan University and the University of Alberta.

Marion LaVigneMarion LaVigne is the founder and publisher of Up Here magazine. For more than three decades, she has run the magazine out of Yellowknife and published more than 30 Northern book titles. She was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Western Magazine Awards in 2004.